Objectives of the trimester met?

During the start of the trimester, I set for myself two objectives which I hope to achieve at the end of the course. I wanted to better understand my peers effectively by assessing their written, verbal, non-verbal or visual communication. I also wanted to improve how I channeled my feelings and thoughts with better communication skills.

Instead of paying too much attention to the words that are being said, I realized that much of communication is based on the tone of voice and body language. It is commonly known that good communication is the foundation of any successful relationship, whether it be personal or professional. It is important to recognize that our nonverbal communication which consists of our facial expressions, gestures, eye contact, posture, and tone of voice, can give us clues and additional information and meaning in addition to verbal communication.

Using the emotional energy matrix, I can better understand a person’s non-verbal cues by identifying which zone the person is in. By understanding the nature of emotional energy matrix, it provides me with guidance on how to better manage it. Therefore, I have fully achieved my first objective combined with a greater appreciation of verbal and non-verbal communication.

Adapting Danial Goleman Emotional Intelligence management strategy into my life has empowered me with the ability to identify my own emotions and the emotions of others, achieving the second objective. Personally, with this management strategy, I am now able to manage my own emotions effectively knowing that it has the capacity to impact people around me both positively and negatively.

With other various communication strategies, such as the six seconds EQ model, being taught throughout the trimester, it molded me into a better effective communicator. Being a better effective communicator allows me to stop and think and analyze the situation before speaking.  Even when speaking I must manage my non-verbal cues to prevent misunderstandings.

Leave a comment